Thoughtfulness in Every Corner

JL Maxcy
3 min readJun 14, 2021

I really enjoyed getting to know Begoña, aka Boxhead, which is why I thought it strange when I found this blog entry difficult to start. I couldn't understand why I was struggling, but after some contemplation and thorough research of Boxhead’s art and social media accounts, I finally understood my conundrum. It’s because there really isn't anything I can tell you about Begoña that isn’t already said in her work or on her profiles. She has crafted a beautiful portfolio website that lays out her story perfectly. From there, you can get all the information on how she started making art and where art has taken her. Additionally, you can stay up to date on new creations from her Twitter and see other artists she admires. Boxhead is already out there, perfectly packaged and ready for unboxing. She really has done a master class on how to present oneself cohesively and clearly. So what can I tell you about Boxhead that she hasn’t already said herself?

Well, I can tell you the idea for Boxhead was born on the battleground. Those are my words, not Begoña’s. But, the way she talks about mental health, I can’t help but imagine her as a soldier, advancing and retreating as she wrestles with her highs and lows. The idea for Boxhead came during a profound bout of depression, a time when her emotions felt unbearable and oppressive. Still, I am not surprised that a thoughtful Bogoña found an elegant solution to her inner conflict. A box over the head is a tranquil place to retreat and a shield to protect. At its core Boxhead is Begoña.

But she also says on her FND profile, “Boxhead represents us all.” I wasn’t sure how both statements could be true, but I began to understand what she meant while she described herself as a fainting goat, paralysed by anxiety. That analogy resonated with me and was proof she and I were kindred spirits. I also related to the way she described her racing mind and her difficulties quieting it. I understood when she struggled to answer questions due to the enormity of the answer. How could she begin to explain the interconnectedness of everything? How can any of us? I realised then just how many creatives I know who are also struggling with mental health. Depression and anxiety are an epidemic, but I bet you already know. After spending an afternoon with Begoña, it was clear that this is the message Boxhead seems to be focussing on now. She wants you to know that while you may feel alone, living inside your box, you are not! We are all box heads, and if you are looking for a community, you can find me, Begoña and many other beautiful, anxious goats on the FND discord. Let’s be box heads together.

For all things Boxhead https://linktr.ee/therealboxhead

--

--